# Webberville Community Schools Board of Education Special Board Meeting Minutes May 18, 2021

## **Call to Order**

A special meeting of the Webberville Board of Education was called to order by President Amy Coe in the Webberville High School Cafeteria on Tuesday, May 18, 2021, at 6:32 PM.

**Roll Call** 

Present: Amy Coe, Daneille Rhodes, Heather Stiffler, Linda Erwin, Jennifer Lycos,

Amanda Barbour, William Moran

Absent: None

Administration Present: Brian Friddle

## **Approval of Agenda**

Ms. Rhodes moved, Ms. Lycos seconded a motion to approve the agenda of the special Board of Education meeting being held on today's date, Tuesday, May 18, 2021, as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Rhodes – Y; Stiffler – Y; Erwin – Y; Lycos - Y; Barbour – Y; Moran - Y. Motion passed 7-0.

## **Public Comment on Superintendent Interviews**

Ms. Aaron Mayes, Ms. Pamela Fraley and Ms. Suzanne Cloudman provided their thoughts on the superintendent selection and what the district needs to move forward.

## **Board Discussion on the Candidates**

President Coe opened the floor to the board for their thoughts and perspective on the interviews and candidate selection.

#### **Action Item**

Ms. Rhodes moved, Ms. Erwin seconded a motion to offer Andrew Smith the position of superintendent of Webberville Community Schools. Roll Call Vote: Coe - Y; Rhodes - Y; Stiffler - N; Erwin - Y; Lycos - Y; Barbour - N; Moran - N. Motion passed 4-3.

### **Questions or Comments from the Audience**

Ms. Fraley thanked Mr. Vowles for his service to the school and hopes he remains in the district.

#### **Questions or Comments from the Board**

Ms. Coe stated it was a difficult decision to make with two qualified candidates. The negotiations team will create a contract for Mr. Smith to present to the board.

## <u>Adjournment</u>

Ms. Rhodes moved, Ms. Lycos seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting. Roll Call Vote: Coe - Y; Rhodes - Y; Stiffler - Y; Erwin - Y; Lycos - Y; Barbour - Y; Moran - Y. Motion passed 7-0. The board adjourned the meeting at 7:28 PM.

Respectfully Submitted,

Heather Stiffler

Webberville Board of Education Secretary