Webberville Community Schools Board of Education Regular Board Meeting Minutes April 15, 2019

Call to Order

The regular board meeting of the Webberville Board of Education was called to order by President Amy Coe in the Spartan Center Community Room on Monday, April 15, 2019, at 6:00 PM.

Roll Call

Present: Amy Coe, Curt Carpenter, Amanda Barbour and Linda Erwin

Absent: Jennifer Lycos, Heather Stiffler, Daneille Rhodes

Administration Present: Brian Friddle

Approval of Agenda

Ms. Barbour moved, Mr. Carpenter seconded a motion to approve the agenda of the regular Board of Education meeting being held on today's date, Monday, April 15, 2019, as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Routine Items - Consent Agenda

Mr. Carpenter moved, Ms. Barbour seconded a motion to approve the consent agenda as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe - Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Reports

Ms. Lindsay Estep and Ms. Brooke Kemler, along with three elementary students, presented the Orton Gillingham Program. They demonstrated multi-sensory methods used to teach students sounds, letters and reading.

Mr. Friddle provided updates on the boiler issue, the May board retreat, the GAC league meeting, and a necessary change in the July meeting schedule. He also confirmed there will be three staff retiring at the end of the school year – Beth Glover, Cathy Fitzgerald and Wanda Lewis.

Communications and Petitions

None

Action Items

Mr. Carpenter moved, Ms. Barbour seconded a motion to approve the 2019-2020 general fund budget for the Ingham Intermediate School District as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Mr. Carpenter moved, Ms. Barbour seconded a motion to approve the IISD Business Services Contract through June 30, 2022 as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Ms. Barbour moved, Ms. Erwin seconded a motion to approve the implementation of a Community Services Director position as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe - Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Ms. Barbour moved, Mr. Carpenter seconded a motion to approve out-of-state travel for Lindsay Estep and Sonya Pake to attend the Columbia University Writers' Workshop as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Ms. Barbour moved, Mr. Carpenter seconded a motion to retain the accounting firm of Maner Costerisan for the purposes of performing the state-required school audit through June 30, 2022, and other financial and accounting advice as needed. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Ms. Erwin moved, Ms. Barbour seconded a motion to accept the award from the Michigan State Police Grant as presented. Roll Call Vote: Coe - Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Mr. Carpenter moved, Ms. Barbour seconded a motion to approve the continued employment of Brittany Magsig for the 2019-2020 school year. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Ms. Erwin moved, Ms. Barbour seconded a motion to approve the continued employment of Laura Grant for the 2019-2020 school year. Roll Call Vote: Coe - Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Mr. Carpenter moved, Ms. Barbour seconded a motion to place the following teachers on a second year of probation effective the beginning of the 2019-2020 school year: Alexander Katona, Steven Vowles. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Ms. Barbour moved, Ms. Erwin seconded a motion to place the following teachers on a third year of probation effective the beginning of the 2019-2020 school year: Danielle Berger, Stephany Bohlmann, Nicole Elliott, Alex Ellul, Rebecca Goodman, Catherine Huffman, Danielle Jirasek, Daviet Knox. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Ms. Barbour moved, Mr. Carpenter seconded a motion to place the following teachers on a fifth year of probation effective the beginning of the 2019-2020 school year: Cynthia McCormick, Sarah Dawson, Graham Lockwood. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Ms. Barbour moved, Mr. Carpenter seconded a motion to grant tenure to the following teachers effective the beginning of the 2019-2020 school year: Karen Lockwood-Marble, Jacqueline Rolen. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0.

Questions or comments from the audience

None

Question or comments from the board

Ms. Coe thanked the teachers and students for the presentation. Mr. Carpenter stated he would not be able to attend the May 8 retreat.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Ms. Barbour moved, Mr. Carpenter seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting. Roll Call Vote: Coe – Y; Carpenter – Y; Barbour – Y; Erwin – Y. Motion passed 4-0. The board adjourned the meeting at 6:45 PM.

Respectfully Submitted,

Heather Stiffler Webberville Board of Education Secretary